Article Title

Illawarra Unity: Editorial July 1998


1998 has been an active year for the branch. Planning for the 1999 National Labour History Conference in Wollongong on the Labour Day long weekend of 1-4 October is now well-advanced, and brochures concerning it are enclosed with this issue. Three forums of the Branch have been held throughout the year, the Labour Heritage subcommittee under Neville Arrowsmith’s enthusiastic leadership continues to collect material and display it at our gatherings, and this is the second issue of our journal for the year. The Annual General Meeting on 29 March was attended by about 30 at the Cedar Room of the Town Hall and Community Centre. The 1999 executive which was elected consisted of: President: Ray Markey Vice president: Shirley Nixon Secretary: Robert Hood Treasurer: Neville Arrowsmith Committee members: Margaret Bronneberg, Val Dolan, Bronwyn James, and Gary Turner.