Article Title

Illawarra Unity: Editorial 1996


The Illawarra Branch of the Australian Society for the Study of Labour History was formed in October 1995, at a meeting at the Ironworkers’ Building in Wollongong. The meeting was addressed by Tom Uren, who attracted a strong attendance of about forty people, including a number of union and political activists, as well as academics and teachers. Greg Patmore, the national president of the Society, also addressed the meeting, which adopted a constitution, set a membership fee of $5 for 1996/7, and elected the following executive: President: Ray Markey Vice President: Andrew Wells Secretary: Stuart Svensen Treasurer: Gai Warner Committee members: Margaret Bronneburg, Debbie Graham, Shirley Nixon. Robert Hood has since replaced Stuart as secretary as a result of Stuart’s shift to Melbourne.